NJ Laws Directions to Ken Vercammen and Associates Ken Vercammens Resume Ken Vercammen articles

Kenneth Vercammen & Associates
A Law Office with Experienced Attorneys for Your New Jersey Legal Needs

2053 Woodbridge Ave.
Edison NJ 08817
732-572-0500
1-800-655-2977

Personal Injury and Criminal
on Weekends 732-261-4005

Princeton Area
68 South Main St.
Cranbury, NJ 08512
By Appointment Only
Toll Free 800-655-2977


39:3-40, 39:4-50 Drivers License Increased Penalties for Driving in School Zone While Intoxicated or Suspended

Kenneth Vercammen's Law office represents individuals charged with criminal and serious traffic violations throughout New Jersey.

N.J.S. 39:3-40

(f) Increases penalties for persons driving while suspended under certain circumstances:

(a) on or within 1000 feet of school property (May use 2C:39-7 drugs); or (b) driving through a school crossing as designated by the municipality by ordinance or resolution; or (c) driving through an undesignated school crossing knowing that children are present.

It shall be no defense to a prosecution under (a) or (b) that the defendant was unaware of the existence of the school zone/crossing or that no juveniles were present at the time or that school was not in session.

The new penalties are as follows: License suspension 1-2 years commencing, upon completion of any prison sentence, $500 fine and; 1st offense: imprisonment 60-90 days 2nd offense: imprisonment 120-150 days 3rd and subsequent offense: imprisonment 180 days

D.W.I.

N.J.S. 39:4-50

(g) Increases penalties for persons driving while intoxicated when the violation occurs:

(a) on or within 1000 feet of school property (May use 2C:39-7 drug maps); or (b) driving through a school crossing as designated by the municipality by ordinance or resolution; or (c) driving through and undesignated school crossing knowing t that children are present.

It shall be no defense to a prosecution under (a) or (b) that the defendant was unaware of the existence of the school zone/crossing or that no juveniles were present at the time or that school was not in session.

The new penalties are as follows:

1st offense: fine $500-$800 imprisonment maximum 60 days drivers license suspension 1-2 years

2nd offense: fine $1000-$2000 imprisonment 96 hours mandatory up to 180 days (which may be reduced by up to 90 days by community service).

community service 60 days drivers license suspension minimum 2 years

3rd offense: fine $2000 imprisonment 180 days drivers license suspension 20 years (to commence upon completion of prison term).

Driving while intoxicated while on school property 39:4-50(g)

1st Offense - $500 to $800 fine, and

- imprisonment not exceeding 60 days, and

- driver's license suspension for not less than 1 year nor more than 2 years, and

- VCCA $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and

- shall order installation of an ignition interlock device for not less than 6 months nor more than 1 year,

and

- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not

met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver's license suspension until requirements are

satisfied.

Plus $3,000 mvc surcharges and 9 car insurance points

 

2nd Offense - $1000 to $2000 fine, and

- imprisonment of not less than 96 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on

probation, nor more than 180 days, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not

exceeding 90 days, served performing community service, and

- driver's license suspension for 4 years, and

- community service for 60 days, and

- VCCA $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and

- shall order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, and

- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not

met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver's license suspension until requirements are

satisfied.

Plus $3,000 mvc surcharges and 9 car insurance points

 

 

3rd or Subsequent - $2000 fine, and

- imprisonment not less than 180 days in a county jail or workhouse, except that the court may order the

defendant to serve up to 90 days of that sentence participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient

rehabilitation program approved by the IDRC, and

- driver's license suspension for 20 years to start upon completion of any prison sentence, and

- VCCA $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and

- shall order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, and

- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not

met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver's license suspension until requirements are

satisfied.

Plus $3,000 mvc surcharges and 9 car insurance points

 

REFUSAL

N.J.S. 39:4-50.4a

Increases penalties when the offense occurs:

(a) on or within 1000 feet of school property (May use 2C:39-7 drug maps); or (b) driving through a school crossing as designated by the municipality by ordinance or resolution; or (c) driving through an undesignated school crossing knowing that children are present.

It shall be no defense to a prosecution under (a) or (b) that the defendant was unaware of the existence of the school zone/crossing or that no juveniles were present at the time or that school was not in session.

The new penalties are as follows: Fine $500-$1000 and;

1st offense drivers license suspension - 1 year; 2nd offense drivers license suspension - 4 years; 3rd offense drivers license suspension - 20 years.

 

39:4-50.4a Refusal to submit to chemical test on school property (penalty provision at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a(b)

1st Offense - $600 to $1000 fine, and

- driver's license suspension not less than 1 year or more than 2 years (consecutive to any revocation

imposed under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50), and

- DDEF $100, and

- shall refer offender to IDRC.

2nd Offense - $1000 to $2000 fine, and

- driver's license suspension for 4 years (consecutive to any revocation imposed under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50),

and

- DDEF $100, and

- shall refer offender to IDRC.

3rd or Subsequent - $2000 fine, and

- driver's license suspension for 20 years (consecutive to any revocation imposed under

N.J.S.A. 39:4- 50), and

- DDEF $100, and

- shall refer offender to IDRC.

Plus $3,000 mvc surcharges and 9 car insurance points

 


Kenneth Vercammen was the Middlesex County Bar Municipal Court Attorney of the Year
Minimum Mandatory Fines, Points, Jail and Penalties Relating to Selected Motor Vehicle Offenses
Receive free NJ Laws Email newsletter with current laws and cases

Telephone Consultation Program
New Article of the Week

Meet with an experienced Attorney to handle your important legal needs.
Please call the office to schedule a confidential "in Office" consultation.
Attorneys are not permitted to provide legal advice by email.

Kenneth Vercammens Law office represents individuals charged with criminal, drug offenses, and serious traffic violations throughout New Jersey. Our office helps people with traffic/ municipal court tickets including drivers charged with Driving While Intoxicated, Refusal and Driving While Suspended.

Kenneth Vercammen was the NJ State Bar Municipal Court Attorney of the Year and past president of the Middlesex County Municipal Prosecutors Association.

Criminal and Motor vehicle violations can cost you. You will have to pay fines in court or receive points on your drivers license. An accumulation of too many points, or certain moving violations may require you to pay expensive surcharges to the N.J. DMV [Division of Motor Vehicles] or have your license suspended. Dont give up! The Law Office of Kenneth Vercammen can provide experienced attorney representation for criminal motor vehicle violations.

When your job or drivers license is in jeopardy or you are facing thousands of dollars in fines, DMV surcharges and car insurance increases, you need excellent legal representation. The least expensive attorney is not always the answer. Schedule an appointment if you need experienced legal representation in a traffic/municipal court matter.

Our website provides information on traffic offenses we can be retained to represent people. Our website also provides details on jail terms for traffic violations and car insurance eligibility points. Car insurance companies increase rates or drop customers based on moving violations.

Contact the Law Office of
Kenneth Vercammen & Associates, P.C.
at 732-572-0500
for an appointment.

The Law Office cannot provide legal advice or answer legal questions over the phone or by email. Please call the Law office and schedule a confidential "in office" consultation. The Law Office now accepts payment by American Express, Visa and Master Card.

Ken Vercammen articles.

Ken Vercammens Resume
Directions to Ken Vercammen and Associates




Disclaimer This web site is purely a public resource of general New Jersey information (intended, but not promised or guaranteed to be correct, complete, or up-to-date). It is not intended be a source of legal advice, do not rely on information at this site or others in place of the advice of competent counsel. The Law Office of Kenneth Vercammen complies with the New Jersey Rules of Professional Conduct. This web site is not sponsored or associated with any particular linked entity unless specifically stated. The existence of any particular link is simply intended to imply potential interest to the reader, inclusion of a link should not be construed as an endorsement.

Copyright 2017. Kenneth Vercammen & Associates, P.C.