NJ Laws Directions to Ken Vercammen and Associates Ken Vercammens Resume Ken Vercammen articles

Kenneth Vercammen & Associates
A Law Office with Experienced Attorneys for Your New Jersey Legal Needs

2053 Woodbridge Ave.
Edison NJ 08817
732-572-0500
1-800-655-2977

Personal Injury and Criminal
on Weekends 732-261-4005

Princeton Area
68 South Main St.
Cranbury, NJ 08512
By Appointment Only
Toll Free 800-655-2977


New Jerseys Top 100 Most Common Motor Vehicle Violations plus Fines, Points, Jail, and Surcharges

NJSA 39:3-9a Failure to notify change in name; failure to endorse license

Fine ranging from $25-$500 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

2. Each drivers license issued pursuant to R.S.39:3-10 shall have the legal name of the licensee endorsed thereon in his own handwriting. For purposes of this section, legal name shall mean the name recorded on a birth certificate unless otherwise changed by marriage, divorce or order of court. The director may require that only the legal name be recorded on the drivers license. A person who has been issued a drivers license pursuant to R.S.39:3-10 whose name is changed due to marriage, divorce or by order of court shall notify the director of the change in name within two weeks after the change is made.

A person who fails to notify the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles of a change in name as required in this section shall be subject to a fine. A person who is fined under this section for a violation of this section shall not be subject to a surcharge under the New Jersey Merit Rating Plan as provided in section 6 of P.L.1983, c.65 (C.17:29A-35).

For the purposes of this section, a digitized signature image shall constitute a licensees signature in his own handwriting. A digitized signature image is an electronic representation of a persons written signature.

 

NJSA 39:3-10.24. Refusal to consent to breath samples after arrest for N.J.S.A. 39:3-10.13 (Operation of commercial vehicle while under influence)

First offense: Fine ranging from $250-$500 and six month revocation of driver’s license, and satisfy the requirements of a program of alcohol education pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Subsequent offense: Fine ranging from $250-$500 and 2 year revocation of driver’s license, and satisfy the requirements of a program of alcohol education pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. A person who operates a commercial motor vehicle on a public road, street, or highway, or quasi-public area in this State, shall be deemed to have given his consent to the taking of samples of his breath for the purposes of making chemical tests to determine alcohol concentration; provided, however, that the taking of samples shall be made in accordance with the provisions of this act and at the request of a police officer who has reasonable grounds to believe that the person has been operating a commercial motor vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.04% or more.

b. A record of the taking of such a sample, disclosing the date and time thereof, as well as the result of a chemical test, shall be made and a copy thereof, upon request, shall be furnished or made available to the person so tested.

c. In addition to the samples taken and tests made at the direction of a police officer hereunder, the person tested shall be permitted to have such samples taken and chemical tests of his breath, urine, or blood made by a person or physician of his own selection.

d. The police officer shall inform the person tested of his rights under subsections b. and c. of this section.

e. No chemical test, as provided in this section, or specimen necessary thereto, may be made or taken forcibly and against physical resistance thereto by the defendant. The police officer shall, however, inform the person arrested of the consequences of refusing to submit to such test including the penalties under section 12 of this act. A standard statement, prepared by the director, shall be read by the police officer to the person.

f. The court shall revoke for six months the right to operate any motor vehicle of any person who, after being arrested for a violation of section 5 of this act, shall refuse to submit to the chemical test provided for in this section when requested to do so, unless the refusal was in connection with a subsequent offense under this section, section 5 of this act, R.S.39:4-50 or section 2 of P.L.1981, c.512 (C.39:4-50.4a), in which case the revocation period shall be for two years. In addition, a court shall impose the penalties provided in section 12 of this act.

The court shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether the arresting officer had probable cause to believe that the person had been operating or was in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle on the public highways or quasi-public areas of this State with an alcohol concentration at 0.04% or more, whether the person was placed under arrest, whether he refused to submit to the test upon request of the officer, and if these elements of the violation are not established, no conviction shall issue. In addition to any other requirements provided by law, a person whose driving privilege is revoked for refusing to submit to a chemical test shall satisfy the requirements of a program of alcohol education or rehabilitation pursuant to the provisions of R.S.39:4-50. The revocation shall be independent of any revocation imposed by virtue of a conviction under the provisions of R.S.39:4-50 or section 12 of this act.

In addition to imposing a revocation under this subsection, a court shall impose a fine of not less than $250 or more than $500.

 

39:3-12. Illegal securing of driver’s license

Fine ranging from $200-$500 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No applicant for a drivers license shall employ or procure the employment of another person to take the license examination for him, and no person shall take a drivers license examination in the name of or in the place of the applicant. No person shall procure or attempt to procure a drivers license without taking the examination therefor as herein provided, nor shall a person procure or attempt to procure a drivers license for another who has not taken an examination therefor.

A person who violates any provision of this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than two hundred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, or imprisonment for not less than thirty days nor more than ninety days, or both, at the discretion of the court.

 

39:3-13.2a Violation of conditions of special learner’s permit, other than conviction of alcohol- or drug-related offense

Fine of $100. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

6. a. Any person to whom a special learners permit has been issued pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1950, c.127 (C.39:3-13.1), upon successful completion of a State approved written examination, eye examination and an approved minimum six-hour behind-the-wheel driving course, shall be entitled to retain the special learners permit in his own possession. The special learners permit shall be validated by the division for the purpose of driving a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State after the holder has successfully met the necessary examination requirements, and upon the successful completion of a behind-the-wheel driving course. Such person may operate a motor vehicle of the class for which a basic drivers license is required except during the hours between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. while in the company and under the supervision, from the front passenger seat, of a licensed motor vehicle driver of this State who is over 21 years of age and has been licensed to drive a passenger automobile for at least three years. Such special permit shall be valid until such persons seventeenth birthday or until he qualifies for a provisional license. Except during an instructional period of a behind-the-wheel driving course, the holder of a special permit shall operate a passenger automobile with only the following passengers: (1) the supervising passenger; (2) persons who share the permit holders residence; and (3) one additional passenger who does not reside with the permit holder. The holder of the special learners permit shall not use any interactive wireless communication device, except in an emergency, while operating a moving passenger automobile on a public road or highway. Use shall include, but not be limited to, talking or listening on any interactive wireless communication device or operating its keys, buttons or other controls. All occupants of the automobile shall be secured in a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt or child restraint system.

b. When notified by a court of competent jurisdiction that a special learners permit holder has been convicted of a violation which causes the permit holder to accumulate more than two motor vehicle points or has been convicted of a violation of R.S.39:4-50; section 2 of P.L.1981, c.512 (C.39:4-50.4a); P.L.1992, c.189 (C.39:4-50.14); R.S.39:4-129; N.J.S.2C:11-5; subsection c. of N.J.S.2C:12-1 or any other motor vehicle-related law the director determines to be significant and applicable pursuant to regulation, and in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, the director shall, without the exercise of discretion or a hearing, suspend the holders special learners permit for 90 days. The director shall restore the permit following the term of the permit suspension if the permit holder, regardless of age, satisfactorily completes a remedial training course of not less than four hours which may be given by the division, a drivers school licensed by the director pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1951, c.216 (C.39:12-2) or any statewide safety organization approved by the director. The course shall be administered pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the director and subject to oversight by the division. The authority of the director to suspend, revoke or deny issuance of an initial or renewal license to operate a drivers school or an instructors license, and to assess fines, pursuant to P.L.1951, c.216 (C.39:12-1 et seq.) shall apply to any violations related to the administration of a remedial training course. The permit holder shall also remit a course fee prior to the commencement of the course. If, after completion of the remedial training course, the director is notified by a court of competent jurisdiction that the special learners permit holder has been convicted of any motor vehicle violation which results in the imposition of any motor vehicle points or has been convicted of a violation of R.S.39:4-50; section 2 of P.L.1981, c.512 (C.39:4-50.4a); P.L.1992, c.189 (C.39:4-50.14); R.S.39:4-129; N.J.S.2C:11-5; subsection c. of N.J.S.2C:12-1 or any other motor vehicle-related law the director deems significant and applicable pursuant to regulation, the director, without the exercise of discretion or a hearing, shall also postpone the issuance of a basic license for 90 days. When the director is notified by a court of competent jurisdiction that a special learners permit holder has been convicted of any alcohol or drug-related offense unrelated to the operation of a motor vehicle and he is not otherwise subject to any other suspension penalty therefor, the director shall, without the exercise of discretion or a hearing, suspend the special learners permit for six months.

 

NJSA39:3-20 Weight in excess of limitation permitted by certificate of registration for commercial vehicles

Fine ranging from $500 plus $100 per 1000 lbs. or fraction thereof of excess weight. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:3-20. For the purpose of this section, gross weight means the weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents.

a. The chief administrator is authorized to issue registrations for commercial motor vehicles other than omnibuses or motor-drawn vehicles upon application therefor and payment of a fee based on the gross weight of the vehicle, including the gross weight of all vehicles in any combination of vehicles of which the commercial motor vehicle is the drawing vehicle. The gross weight of a disabled commercial vehicle or combination of disabled commercial vehicles being removed from a highway shall not be included in the calculation of the registration fee for the drawing vehicle. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, every registration for a commercial motor vehicle other than an omnibus or motor-drawn vehicle shall expire and the certificate thereof shall become void on the last day of the twelfth calendar month following the month in which the certificate was issued; provided, however, that the chief administrator may require registrations which shall expire, and issue certificates thereof which shall become void, on a date fixed by the chief administrator, which shall not be sooner than three months or later than 26 months after the date of issuance of such certificates, and the fees for such registrations or registration applications, including any other fees or charges collected in connection with the registration fee, shall be fixed by the chief administrator in amounts proportionately less or greater than the fees established by law. The chief administrator may fix the expiration date for registration certificates at a date other than 12 months if the chief administrator determines that such change is necessary, appropriate or convenient in order to aid in implementing the vehicle inspection requirements of chapter 8 of Title 39 or for other good cause. The minimum registration fee shall be as follows:

(1) In the case of vehicles other than trucks transporting ready-mixed concrete, asphalt, stone, sand, gravel, clay and cleanfill:

For vehicles not in excess of 5,000 pounds, $53.50.

For vehicles in excess of 5,000 pounds and not in excess of 10,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $11.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

For vehicles in excess of 10,000 pounds and not in excess of 18,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $13.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

For vehicles in excess of 18,000 pounds and not in excess of 50,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $14.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

For vehicles in excess of 50,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $15.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds; and

(2) In the case of trucks transporting ready-mixed concrete, asphalt, stone, sand, gravel, clay and cleanfill:

For vehicles not in excess of 5,000 pounds, $53.50.


For vehicles in excess of 5,000 pounds and not in excess of 18,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $11.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

For vehicles in excess of 18,000 pounds and not in excess of 50,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $12.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

For vehicles in excess of 50,000 pounds, $53.50 plus $13.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

b. The chief administrator is also authorized to issue registrations for commercial motor vehicles having three or more axles and a gross weight over 40,000 pounds but not exceeding 70,000 pounds, upon application therefor and proof to the satisfaction of the chief administrator that the applicant is actually engaged in construction work or in the business of supplying material, transporting material, or using such registered vehicle for construction work.

Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, every registration for these commercial motor vehicles shall expire and the certificate thereof shall become void on the last day of the twelfth calendar month following the month in which the certificate was issued; provided, however, that the chief administrator may require registrations which shall expire, and issue certificates thereof which shall become void on a date fixed by the chief administrator, which shall not be sooner than three months or later than 26 months after the date of issuance of such certificates, and the fees for such registrations or registration applications, including any other fees or charges collected in connection with the registration fee, shall be fixed by the chief administrator in amounts proportionately less or greater than the fees established by law. The chief administrator may fix the expiration date for registration certificates at a date other than 12 months if the chief administrator determines that such change is necessary, appropriate or convenient in order to aid in implementing the vehicle inspection requirements of chapter 8 of Title 39 or for other good cause.

The registration fee shall be $22.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof.

For purposes of calculating this fee, weight means the gross weight, including the gross weight of all vehicles in any combination of which such commercial motor vehicle is the drawing vehicle.

Such commercial motor vehicle shall be operated in compliance with the speed limitations of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes and shall not be operated at a speed greater than 45 miles per hour when one or more of its axles has a load which exceeds the limitations prescribed in R.S.39:3-84. c. The chief administrator is also authorized to issue registrations for each of the following solid waste vehicles: two-axle vehicles having a gross weight not exceeding 42,000 pounds; tandem three-axle and four-axle vehicles having a gross weight not exceeding 60,000 pounds; four-axle tractor-trailer combination vehicles having a gross weight not exceeding 60,000 pounds. Registration is based upon application to the chief administrator and proof to his satisfaction that the applicant is actually engaged in the performance of solid waste disposal or collection functions and holds a certificate of convenience and necessity therefor issued by the Department of Environmental Protection.

Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, every registration for a solid waste vehicle shall expire and the certificate thereof shall become void on the last day of the twelfth calendar month following the month in which the certificate was issued.

The registration fee shall be $50 plus $11.50 for each 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds.

d. The chief administrator is also authorized to issue registrations for commercial motor-drawn vehicles upon application therefor. The registration year for commercial motor-drawn vehicles shall be April 1 to the following March 31 and the fee therefor shall be $18 for each such vehicle.

At the discretion of the chief administrator, an applicant for registration for a commercial motor-drawn vehicle may be provided the option of registering such vehicle for a period of four years. In the event that the applicant for registration exercises the four-year option, a fee of $64 for each such vehicle shall be paid to the chief administrator in advance.

If any commercial motor-drawn vehicle registered for a four-year period is sold or withdrawn from use on the highways, the chief administrator may, upon surrender of the vehicle registration and plate, refund $16 for each full year of unused prepaid registration.

e. It shall be unlawful for any vehicle or combination of vehicles registered under this act, having a gross weight, including load or contents, in excess of the gross weight provided on the registration certificate to be operated on the highways of this State.

The owner, lessee, bailee or any one of the aforesaid of a vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, found or operated on any public road, street or highway or on any public or quasi-public property in this State with a gross weight of that vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, in excess of the weight limitation permitted by the certificate of registration for the vehicle or combination of vehicles, pursuant to the provisions of this section, shall be assessed a penalty of $500 plus an amount equal to $100 for each 1,000 pounds or fractional portion of 1,000 pounds of weight in excess of the weight limitation permitted by the certificate of registration for that vehicle or combination of vehicles. A vehicle or combination of vehicles for which there is no valid certificate of registration is deemed to have been registered for zero pounds for the purposes of the enforcement of this act, in addition to any other violation of this Title, but is not deemed to be lawfully or validly registered pursuant to the provisions of this Title.

This section shall not be construed to supersede or repeal the provisions of section 39:3-84, 39:4-75, or 39:4-76 of this Title.

f. Of the registration fees collected by the chief administrator pursuant to this section for vehicles with gross vehicle weights in excess of 5,000 pounds, an amount equal to $3 per 1,000 pounds or portion thereof in excess of 5,000 pounds for each registration shall be forwarded to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Fund established pursuant to section 17 of P.L.1995, c.157 (C.39:8-75). Moneys in the fund shall be used by the Department of Law and Public Safety and the Department of Transportation for enforcement of laws and regulations governing commercial motor vehicles.

 

NJSA 39:3-20.1 Misuse of registration of empty trucks

Fine ranging from $25-$100 and suspension or revocation of the privilege. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. In addition to the motor vehicle registration provisions authorized pursuant to this chapter, the director may issue, upon application on a form prescribed by him, a registration certificate and registration plates for trucks, tractors, trailers and semitrailers that are empty and being transported from one terminal to another, or from the place of sale to the registrants terminal or place of business, or are empty and being transported for the purpose of having additional equipment added or lettering affixed.

The director may issue, upon application on the form prescribed by the director, a registration certificate and registration plates for mobile and manufactured homes being transported from the place of manufacture to the registrants terminal or place of business, or being transported for the purpose of delivering the mobile or manufactured home to a final point of delivery.

The annual fee for the issuance of each set of such plates shall be $25.00. Such plates are to be in the form prescribed by the director and shall be marked in a manner to indicate the vehicle is in-transit empty.

 

NJSA 39:3-27.11. Misuse of fire department or first aid squad plates

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall lend the special plate for use on a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued, or use the same for a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued.

 

NJSA 39:3-27.17. Misuse of “Disabled Veteran” plates

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall lend the special plates for use on a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued, or use the same for a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued.

 

NJSA 39:3-27.21. Misuse of “Commercial Van” plates

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall lend the special plate for use on a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued, or use the same for a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued.

 

NJSA 39:3-27.27. Misuse of “Street Rod” plates

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. The owner of a modified antique automobile manufactured before 1949, referred to as a street rod, which is registered in this State, may apply to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a special license plate to be displayed in place of the standard license plate.

The special plate shall be issued upon proof that the street rod is registered in a New Jersey street rod club which is fully affiliated with the National Street Rod Association, Inc. The plate shall be issued for the applicants use only for the registered vehicle and upon a transfer of title he shall surrender the plate to the director.

b. The special plate shall bear the words street rod and shall be of a design approved by the director. The fee for the plate shall be $15.00 in addition to the fees otherwise prescribed by law for the registration of the motor vehicle.

c. A person issued the special plate, in addition to the prescribed inspection sticker, shall display a valid National Street Rod Association safety inspection sticker on the vehicle.

d. The fine for violating this act is not less than $25.00 nor more than $50.00.

 

NJSA 39:3-29 Failure to exhibit documents

Fine of $150. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:3-29. The drivers license, the registration certificate of a motor vehicle and an insurance identification card shall be in the possession of the driver or operator at all times when he is in charge of a motor vehicle on the highways of this State.

The driver or operator shall exhibit his drivers license and an insurance identification card, and the holder of a registration certificate or the operator or driver of a motor vehicle for which a registration certificate has been issued, whether or not the holder, driver or operator is a resident of this State, shall also exhibit the registration certificate, when requested so to do by a police officer or judge, while in the performance of the duties of his office, and shall write his name in the presence of the officer, so that the officer may thereby determine the identity of the licensee and at the same time determine the correctness of the registration certificate, as it relates to the registration number and number plates of the motor vehicle for which it was issued; and the correctness of the evidence of a policy of insurance, as it relates to the coverage of the motor vehicle for which it was issued.

Any person violating this section shall be subject to a fine of $150, of which $25 shall be deposited in the Uninsured Motorist Prevention Fund established by section 2 of P.L.1983, c.141 (C.39:6B-3).

If a person charged with a violation of this section can exhibit his drivers license, insurance identification card and registration certificate, which were valid on the day he was charged, to the judge of the municipal court before whom he is summoned to answer to the charge, such judge may dismiss the charge. However, the judge may impose court costs.

 

NJSA 39:3-35. Lending or misusing registration certificate or plates

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall lend the registration certificate or registration plates for use on a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued, or use the same for a motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which issued.

 

NJSA 39:3-37. Falsifying application on examination

Fine ranging from $200-$500 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both

39:3-37. A person who gives a fictitious name or address or makes any other intentional misstatement of a material fact in an application for registration of a motor vehicle , an application for a waiver pursuant to section 15 of P.L.1995, c.112 (C.39:8-55) of the emission standards requirement, or an application for a drivers license or in a preliminary application, examination or proceeding, or a person who knowingly sells, loans or gives an identification document to another person for the purpose of aiding that person to obtain a drivers license, registration certificate or waiver certificate for which that person is not qualified, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200 or more than $500, or imprisonment for not more than six months or both, at the discretion of the court. The director shall, upon proper evidence not limited to a conviction, revoke the registration of the motor vehicle or drivers license of a person who violates this section for a period of not less than six months or more than two years.

 

NJSA 39:3-38. Counterfeiting plate or marker

Fine ranging from $50-$100 or revocation of driver’s license not exceeding 6 months. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall counterfeit a number plate or marker or make a substitute or temporary marker, under penalty of revocation of such persons drivers license for a period not to exceed 6 months, or a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00.

No person shall use a marker other than the one issued to him by the commissioner, except as provided in R.S. 39:3-15, under penalty of a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $50.00.

No person shall cause to be placed a forged or counterfeit license plate on any motor vehicle, under penalty of revocation of such persons drivers license for a period not to exceed 6 months, or a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00, or both.

 

NJSA 39:3-70.2 Air pollution

Fine ranging from $25-$100. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

2. Any person who operates a motor vehicle or owns a motor vehicle, other than a school bus, which the person permits to idle in violation of rules and regulations, or to be operated upon the public highways of the State when the motor vehicle is emitting smoke and other air contaminants in excess of standards adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to the Air Pollution Control Act (1954), P.L.1954, c.212 (C.26:2C-1 et seq.) shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 per day, per vehicle, which shall be enforced in accordance with the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes and P.L.2005, c.219 (C.26:2C-8.26 et al.).

The owner of any school bus that is operated or is permitted to idle in violation of rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to the Air Pollution Control Act (1954), P.L.1954, c.212 (C.26:2C-1 et seq.) or any applicable rules and regulations adopted pursuant to P.L.2005, c.219 (C.26:2C-8.26 et al.) shall be liable for a penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 per day, per vehicle, which shall be enforced in accordance with the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes, except that no penalty may be assessed against any driver of a school bus who is not the owner of the school bus.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to a motor vehicle idling in traffic, or a motor vehicle other than a school bus idling in a queue of motor vehicles, that are intermittently motionless and moving because the progress of the motor vehicles in the traffic or the queue has been stopped or slowed by the congestion of traffic on the roadway or other conditions over which the driver of the idling motor vehicle has no control.

 

NJSA 39:3-76.2a Restraint or booster seat for child under age 8

Fine ranging from $10-$25. The fine will be suspended if defendant can prove possession and use of approved restraint. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. Every person operating a motor vehicle, other than a school bus, equipped with safety belts who is transporting a child under the age of eight years and weighing less than 80 pounds on roadways, streets or highways of this State, shall secure the child in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat, as described in Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 213, in a rear seat. If there are no rear seats, the child shall be secured in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat, as described in Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 213 . In no event shall failure to wear a child passenger restraint system or to use a booster seat be considered as contributory negligence, nor shall the failure to wear the child passenger restraint system be admissible as evidence in the trial of any civil action.

 

39:3-76.2f Failure to wear seatbelt

Fine of $20. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

2. a. Except as provided in P.L.1983, c.128 (C.39:3-76.2a et al.) for children under eight years of age and weighing less than 80 pounds, all passengers under eight years of age and weighing more than 80 pounds, and all passengers who are at least eight years of age but less than 18 years of age, and each driver and front seat passenger of a passenger automobile operated on a street or highway in this State shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety seat belt system as defined by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209.

b. The driver of a passenger automobile shall secure or cause to be secured in a properly adjusted and fastened safety seat belt system, as defined by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209, any passenger who is at least eight years of age but less than 18 years of age.

For the purposes of the Passenger Automobile Seat Belt Usage Act, the term passenger automobile shall include vans, pick-up trucks and utility vehicles.

 

39:3-76.5. Failure to equip with seats and footrests for motorcycle passengers

Fine ranging from $50-$100. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. A person operating a motorcycle shall ride only upon the permanent and regular seat attached thereto, and such operator shall not carry any other person nor shall any other person ride on a motorcycle unless such motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person, in which event a passenger may ride upon the permanent and regular seat if designed for two persons, or upon another seat firmly attached to the rear or side of the operator. A passenger shall ride astride on a motorcycle only if the feet of that passenger rest firmly upon the footrests attached to the motorcycle as required by subsection b. of this section. A passenger on a motorcycle, whether riding astride or in a sidecar attached to the motorcycle, shall wear a securely fitted helmet of a size proper for that passenger as required under section 6 of P.L. 1967, c. 237 (C. 39:3-76.7).

A motorcycle operator who carries a passenger in violation of this subsection shall be fined not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00.

b. Motorcycles designed to carry more than one person shall be equipped with adequate footrests for each passenger. Seats and footrests shall be of a type approved by the director. Handholds shall be required only insofar as they are necessary to comply with federal regulations.

 

39:3-79.8. Prohibition of supplying fuel to vehicle without label

First offense: Fine of $25. Subsequent offense: Fine of $50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. Any person requested to supply the compressed or liquified gaseous fuel for any vehicle covered under this act shall refuse to provide the fuel unless the vehicle for which the fuel is intended displays the label required herein.

b. Any person who violates subsection a. of this section shall be liable for a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense and $50.00 for each subsequent offense which may be collected in accordance with the penalty enforcement law (N.J.S. 2A:58-1 et seq.) by the Attorney General.

 

39:3-80. Equipment with inferior tires

First offense: fine ranging from $50-$100. Subsequent offense: Fine ranging from $100-$200. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

Any person who shall operate an automobile, commercial vehicle, trailer or semitrailer or tractor not equipped on all wheels with rubber tires or tires, of a material other than rubber which have been approved by the commissioner, or who shall operate a commercial vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or tractor equipped with solid rubber tires impaired to such an extent as to be likely to cause damage to the public highways, shall be fined, in either case, not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) for the first offense, and for any subsequent offense not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than two hundred dollars ($200.00).

Tractors used for agricultural purposes may be operated over the highways of this State without being equipped with rubber tires, under such regulations as shall, from time to time, be adopted by the commissioner.

Traction or tractor well-drill machines or well-drilling equipment may be operated on the highways as provided by section 39:3-26 of this Title.

 

39:3-81. Projection from tires

Fine ranging from $25-$50. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall sell, offer for sale or possess with intent to sell or use on a highway any motor vehicle tire fitted with blocks, hobs, studs or other projections unless such tire is in safe operating condition and provided that such tire is of a type approved by the director. The director shall promulgate regulations concerning the design, construction and use of such tires and the procedure which shall be followed when such tires are submitted for approval.

Any person violating this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $50.00 to be recovered in a summary proceeding pursuant to the Penalty Enforcement Law (N.J.S. 2A:58-1 et seq.).

 

39:3-84.3i Violation of dimensional limitations

The owner, lessee, bailee or any one of the aforesaid of any vehicle or combination of vehicles found or operated on any public road, street or highway or on any public or quasi-public property in this State in violation of the height, width or length limits as set forth in subsection a. of R.S.39:3-84 shall be fined not less than $150.00 nor more than $500.00. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

 

NJSA 39:3-84.3j Violation of weight limitations

Fine with a minimum of $50 equal to $.02 per pound for each pound of the total excess weight provided the total excess weight is 10,000 lbs. or less, or shall be fined am amount equal to $.03 per pound for each pound of the total excess weight provided that the total excess weight is more than 10,000 lbs. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:3-84.3j The owner, lessee, bailee or any one of the aforesaid of any vehicle or combination of vehicles found or operated on any public road, street or highway or on any public or quasi-public property in this State, with a gross weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, in excess of the weight limitations as provided at subsection b. of R.S.39:3-84 or section 3 of P.L.1950, c.142 (C.39:3-84.1) shall be fined an amount equal to $0.02 per pound for each pound of the total excess weight; provided the total excess weight is 10,000 pounds or less, or shall be fined an amount equal to $0.03 per pound for each pound of the total excess weight; provided the total excess weight is more than 10,000 pounds, but in no event shall the fine be less than $50.00. However, in the case of any vehicle or combination of vehicles carrying a sealed ocean container, either the shipper, the consignee or both, shall be liable for a violation of the weight limitations as provided at subsection b. of R.S.39:3-84 relative to maximum gross axle weights.

 

39:3-84.3l Violation of designated routes

First offense: Maximum fine of $400. Second offense: Fine of $700. Subsequent offense: Fine of $1000. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

5. a. Officers shall have authority as set forth in paragraphs (1) through (3) of this subsection to require the driver, operator, owner, lessee or bailee of any vehicle or combination of vehicles found on any public road, street, or highway or any public or quasi-public property in this State to facilitate and permit the measurement or weighing of the vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, for the purpose of determining whether the size or weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, is in excess of that permitted in this Title:
(1) Officers of the Division of State Police shall have the exclusive authority to conduct random roadside examinations for the purpose of determining whether size or weight is in excess of that permitted in this Title, and officers of the Division of State Police shall have the authority, with or without probable cause to believe that the size or weight is in excess of that permitted, to require the driver, operator, owner, lessee or bailee, to stop, drive or otherwise move to a location for measurement or weighing and submit the vehicle or combination of vehicles, including load or contents, to measurement or weighing;

 

39:3B-25. School bus driver using cell phone

Fine ranging from $250-$500. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. a. It shall be unlawful for the driver of a school bus, as defined in R.S.39:1-1, to use a cellular or other wireless telephone while operating the school bus.

b. The prohibition contained in subsection a. of this section shall not apply:

(1) when the school bus is parked in a safe area off of a highway; or

(2) in an emergency situation.

c. A person who violates this section shall be fined not less than $250 or more than $500.

d. No motor vehicle points or automobile insurance eligibility points pursuant to section 26 of P.L.1990, c.8 (C.17:33B-14) shall be assessed for this offense.

 

39:4-14.10. Electric personal assistive mobility device defined violations

First offense: Warning. Second offense: Fine of $10. Third or subsequent offense, requires court to impound the device for not more than 30 days. A person who fails to comply with the requirements governing warning notices shall be fined no more than $100 for each violation.

1. a. As used in this act, electric personal assistive mobility device means a self-balancing non-tandem two wheeled device designed to transport one person which uses an electric propulsion system with average power of 750 watts (one horsepower), whose maximum speed on a paved level surface, when powered solely by such a propulsion system while operated by a person weighing 170 pounds is less than 20 miles per hour. The device shall not be considered a motorized wheelchair, motorized bicycle, motorcycle, motorized scooter, motorized skateboard, vehicle or motor vehicle.

b. An electric personal assistive mobility device may be operated on the public highways, sidewalks and bicycle paths of the State. Every person operating such a device shall be granted all of the rights and be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a bicycle by chapter four of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes except as to those provisions thereof which by their nature can have no application. An electric personal assistive mobility device shall be subject to the safety and equipment requirements applicable to the bicycle provisions of chapter 4 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes, except as to those provisions thereof which by their nature can have no application.

c. The operator of an electric personal assistive mobility device shall not be required to obtain a drivers license therefor or to register the device. The operator shall not be required to furnish proof of having liability insurance for the device or other proof of financial responsibility.

d. The governing body of any municipality may, by ordinance, regulate the operation of electric personal assistive mobility devices upon the roadways and public properties under municipal jurisdiction. The State or the governing body of any county or municipality may prohibit or regulate their operation on any public highway under its jurisdiction.

e. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section, an operator of an electric personal assistive mobility device shall:

(1) wear a helmet while operating that device; and

(2) be 16 years of age or older, except for an operator with a mobility-related disability.

 

39:4-48. Operating or using a vehicle without consent of owner

A minimum fine of $100. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall operate or use any motor vehicle without the permission of the owner. Any person violating this section shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars.

 

39:4-49. Tampering with motor vehicle

First offense: Fine ranging from $10-$50. Subsequent offense: Fine ranging from $50-$100 or imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall interfere or tamper with a motor vehicle or put its engine in motion while it is standing, without its owners permission.

A person who violates this section shall be fined, for a first offense, not less than ten nor more than fifty dollars, and for a subsequent offense, not less than fifty nor more than one hundred dollars or be imprisoned for not more than thirty days or both.

39:4-50.14 Operation by person who has consumed alcohol who is below age to purchase alcoholic beverages (in addition to penalties under any other law)

Loss of license for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days and perform community service for not less than 15 days nor more than 30 days. In addition, must satisfy program and fee requirements of the IDRC or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety. Penalties shall be in addition to the penalties which the court may impose under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, N.J.S.A. 33-1:81, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, or any other law. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.08%, by weight of alcohol in his blood, shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State or shall be prohibited from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for a period of not less than 30 or more than 90 days beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the day of conviction, whichever is later, and shall perform community service for a period of not less than 15 or more than 30 days.

In addition, the person shall satisfy the program and fee requirements of an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety as prescribed by the chief administrator.

The penalties provided under the provisions of this section shall be in addition to the penalties which the court may impose under N.J.S.2C:33-15, R.S.33:1-81, R.S.39:4-50 or any other law.

 

39:4-51a Consumption of alcoholic beverage while an operator or passenger in motor vehicle

First offense: Fine of $200. Second or subsequent offense: Fine of $250 or 10 days community service. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. A person shall not consume an alcoholic beverage while operating a motor vehicle. A passenger in a motor vehicle shall not consume an alcoholic beverage while the motor vehicle is being operated. This subsection shall not apply to a passenger of a charter or special bus operated as defined under R.S.48:4-1 or a limousine service.

b. A person shall be presumed to have consumed an alcoholic beverage in violation of this section if an unsealed container of an alcoholic beverage is located in the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, the contents of the alcoholic beverage have been partially consumed and the physical appearance or conduct of the operator of the motor vehicle or a passenger may be associated with the consumption of an alcoholic beverage. For the purposes of this section, the term unsealed shall mean a container with its original seal broken or a container such as a glass or cup.

c. For the first offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $200.00 and shall be informed by the court of the penalties for a second or subsequent violation of this section. For a second or subsequent offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $250.00 or shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 10 days in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances.

 

39:4-51b. Possession of open container of alcohol in passenger compartment

First offense: Fine of $200. Second or subsequent offense: Fine of $250 or 10 days community service. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

a. All occupants of a motor vehicle located on a public highway, or the right-of-way of a public highway, shall be prohibited from possessing any open or unsealed alcoholic beverage container. This subsection shall not apply to a passenger of a charter or special bus operated as defined under R.S.48:4-1 or a limousine service.

b. A person shall not be deemed to be in possession of an opened or unsealed alcoholic beverage container pursuant to this section if such container is located in the trunk of a motor vehicle, behind the last upright seat in a trunkless vehicle, or in the living quarters of a motor home or house trailer. For the purposes of this section, the term open or unsealed shall mean a container with its original seal broken or a container such as a glass or cup

c. For a first offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $200 and shall be informed by the court of the penalties for a second or subsequent violation of this section. For a second or subsequent offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $250 or shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 10 days in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances.

 

39:4-53. Leaving vehicle with engine running

Fine ranging from $10-$25. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

A person who leaves a motor vehicle, with its engine running, stationary on the highway and unoccupied by a person able to control it, and without setting the hand brake in such manner as to prevent the vehicle from moving, shall be fined not less than ten nor more than twenty-five dollars for each offense.

 

39:4-56.5. Abandonment of motor vehicle

First offense: Fine ranging from $100-$500 and license or driving privileges may be suspended or revoked for not more than 2 years. Subsequent offense: Fine ranging from $500-$1000 and license or driving privileges may be suspended or revoked for a period of not more than 5 years. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. a. It shall be unlawful for any person to abandon a motor vehicle on or along any highway, other than a limited access highway, or other public property or on any private property without the consent of the owner or other person in charge of the private property. A vehicle which has remained on or along any highway or other public property or on private property without such consent for a period of more than 48 hours or for any period without current license plates shall be presumed to be an abandoned motor vehicle. Vehicles used or to be used in the construction, operation or maintenance of public utility facilities and which are left in a manner which does not interfere with the normal movement of traffic shall not be considered abandoned vehicles for the purposes of this section.

b. It shall be unlawful for any person to abandon a motor vehicle on or along any limited access highway without the consent of the State Department of Transportation or other entity having jurisdiction over the limited access highway, as the case may be. A vehicle which remains on or along such a highway for a period of more than four hours or for any period without current license plates shall be presumed to be an abandoned motor vehicle. Legally parked vehicles, such as vehicles parked in a designated rest area for not more than 12 hours, or vehicles used or to be used in the construction, operation or maintenance of public utility facilities and which are left in a manner which does not interfere with the normal movement of traffic shall not be considered abandoned vehicles for the purposes of this section.

c. Any person who violates this section shall be subject for the first offense to a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500 and his license or driving privilege may be suspended or revoked b by the director for not more than two years. For any subsequent violation he shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000, and his license or driving privilege be suspended or revoked for a period of not more than five years.

 

39:4-63. Placing or throwing injurious substances on highway

Fine ranging from $100-$500 and may forfeit right to operate a motor vehicle for 30 days. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

A person who throws, places or deposits, or who permits to be thrown, placed, or deposited from a motor vehicle, any glass or other sharp, injurious or cutting substance in or upon a public highway of this State shall, except when acting under the authority of the governing body of a municipality, be punished by a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00 and may forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of 30 days.

 

39:4-64. Throwing or dropping debris from a vehicle

Fine ranging from $200-$1000. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.
39:4-64. a. No person shall throw or drop any bundle, object, article or debris of any nature from a vehicle whether in motion or not when such vehicle is on a highway. The words object, article or debris of any nature as used in this section shall be deemed to include a cigarette, cigar, match, or ashes, or any substance or thing in and of itself likely to cause or fuel a fire, but such inclusion shall not be deemed to in any way limit the generality of the words object, article or debris of any nature. Any person who violates this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200 or more than $1,000 for each offense.

b. There shall be a rebuttable presumption that the registered owner of the vehicle, if present in the vehicle, or, in his absence, the driver of the vehicle, is presumed to be responsible for any violation of this section, if:

(1) A bundle, object, article or debris of any nature is thrown or dropped from the vehicle by an occupant of the vehicle;

(2) There are two or more occupants in the vehicle; and

(3) It cannot be determined which occupant of the vehicle is the violator.

 

39:4-76. Driving overweight vehicles on interstate bridge

Fine equal to the amount of $0.02 per pound for each pound of excess weight of the excess does not excess 10,000 pounds, and $0.03 per pound for each pound of excess weight if the excess weight exceeds 10,000 pounds, but in no event less than $50. In addition, the owner of the vehicle shall be responsible for damages to the bridge. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No vehicle shall be driven over any interstate bridge owned or maintained in whole or in part by this State, upon which is posted in a conspicuous place a sign stating the gross weight that the bridge will carry, if the gross weight of any such vehicle and the load is greater than the gross weight stated on the sign.

Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, and the owner of any vehicle driven upon any bridge in violation of this section, with a gross weight or with weight on any axle or wheel exceeding by more than 3% the maximum weight allowed in that particular case, shall be fined an amount equal to $0.02 per pound for each pound of excess weight if the excess does not exceed 10,000 pounds, and $0.03 per pound for each pound of excess weight if the excess weight exceeds 10,000 pounds, but in no event less than $50.00.

The owner of any vehicle driven in violation of this section shall, in addition to the penalty herein prescribed, be responsible to the commission, body or authority having control of said bridge, for damages which may be done to any such bridge by reason of any violation of this section.

Moneys received from penalties imposed or violations of this section shall be accounted for and forwarded to the director, who shall pay the same to the State Treasurer.

 

39:4-77.1. Snow or ice dislodged from a moving vehicle, causing injury or property damage

Fine ranging from $200-$1000. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. When snow or ice is dislodged from a moving vehicle and strikes another vehicle or pedestrian causing injury or property damage, the following penalties shall apply:

The operator of a non-commercial motor vehicle shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200 or more than $1,000 for each offense.

The operator, owner, lessee, bailee or any one of the aforesaid of a commercial motor vehicle shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,500 for each offense.

No motor vehicle points or automobile insurance eligibility points pursuant to section 26 of P.L.1990, c.8 (C.17:33B-14) shall be assessed for this offense.

 

39:4-92. Failure to comply with regulations concerning emergency vehicles

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle giving audible signal, and equipped, as required by section 39:4-91 of this Title, and unless otherwise directed by a police or traffic officer,

(a) The driver of every vehicle shall immediately drive to a position as near as possible and parallel to the right-hand edge or curb of the highway, clear of an intersection of highways, and shall stop and remain in that position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed and

(b) The driver or person in control of a street car shall immediately stop the car clear of an intersection of highways and keep it stationary until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed.

No driver of any vehicle other than one on official business shall follow any authorized emergency vehicle, traveling in response to an emergency call, closer than 300 feet, or drive nearer to, or park the vehicle within 200 feet of, where any fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm

 

39:4-92.1. Following fire department vehicle too closely

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

It shall be lawful for any fire department vehicle when returning to its fire station from an emergency call to display a flashing red light visible under normal atmospheric conditions from a distance of at least 500 feet to the rear of the vehicle and no driver of any vehicle other than one on official business shall follow any such vehicle displaying said light closer than 300 feet.

 

39:4-94. Railroad employee unnecessarily blocking highway with train

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No employee of a steam or electric railroad company shall operate a locomotive, train or crossing gate in such a manner as to unnecessarily prevent or interfere with the use of a highway for the purpose of travel.

 

39:4-97.3 Operating motor vehicle while using cell phone

Fine ranging from $100-$250. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. a. The use of a wireless telephone by an operator of a moving motor vehicle on a public road or highway shall be unlawful except when the telephone is a hands-free wireless telephone, provided that its placement does not interfere with the operation of federally required safety equipment and the operator exercises a high degree of caution in the operation of the motor vehicle.

b. The operator of a motor vehicle may use a hand-held wireless telephone while driving with one hand on the steering wheel only if:

(1) The operator has reason to fear for his life or safety, or believes that a criminal act may be perpetrated against himself or another person; or
(2) The operator is using the telephone to report to appropriate authorities a fire, a traffic accident, a serious road hazard or medical or hazardous materials emergency, or to report the operator of another motor vehicle who is driving in a reckless, careless or otherwise unsafe manner or who appears to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A hand-held wireless telephone users telephone records or the testimony or written statements from appropriate authorities receiving such calls shall be deemed sufficient evidence of the existence of all lawful calls made under this paragraph.

As used in this act, hands-free wireless telephone means a mobile telephone that has an internal feature or function, or that is equipped with an attachment or addition, whether or not permanently part of such mobile telephone, by which a user engages in a conversation without the use of either hand; provided, however, this definition shall not preclude the use of either hand to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function of the telephone.

Use of a wireless telephone shall include, but not be limited to, talking or listening to another person on the telephone.

c. Enforcement of this act by State or local law enforcement officers shall be accomplished only as a secondary action when the operator of a motor vehicle has been detained for a violation of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes or another offense.

d. A person who violates this section shall be fined no less than $100 or more than $250.

e. No motor vehicle points or automobile insurance eligibility points pursuant to section 26 of P.L.1990, c.8 (C.17:33B-14) shall be assessed for this offense.

f. The Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission shall develop and undertake a program to notify and inform the public as to the provisions of this act.

 

39:4-100. Speeding across sidewalk

Fine ranging from $50-$200 r imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No vehicle or horse shall be driven or ridden across a sidewalk at a rate of speed greater than four miles per hour.

39:4-116. Failure to make proper right or left turn at arrow

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

Special right or left turn movements may be provided when approved by the director at intersections where traffic is controlled by traffic control signals, by incorporating an additional lens in the signal. This additional lens shall be a green arrow lens and shall designate the special right or left turn movement by the direction of the arrow.

When a green arrow lens is incorporated in a traffic control signal and the signal is operating to control traffic at an intersection, vehicles shall make turning movements in the direction of the arrow only when the lens is illuminated.

 

39:4-117. Special pedestrian interval

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

A special pedestrian interval may be provided when approved by the director at intersections where traffic is controlled by traffic control signals.

When a special pedestrian interval is incorporated in the operation of a traffic control signal and signified by means of an approved indication, pedestrians shall cross the roadway only when the indication is illuminated, and vehicles and street cars shall stop and remain standing until the green is shown alone.

 

39:4-122. Failure to obey police whistle or police officer

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

A driver shall, upon one blast of a police whistle given by a police officer with hand raised, bring the vehicle to a full stop, and shall not proceed again until he receives a signal so to do from the officer. Three or more blasts of the police whistle is the signal for alarm and indicates the approach of a fire engine or other danger.

 

39:4-123. Failure to make proper right and left turns

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

Except as otherwise provided in this article, the driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as follows:

(a) Right turns. Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(b) Left turns on two-way roadways. At any intersection where traffic is permitted to move in both directions on each roadway entering the intersection, an approach for a left turn shall be made in that portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the center line thereof and by passing to the right of such center line where it enters the intersection and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection to the right of the center line of the roadway being entered. Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center of the intersection.

(c) Left turns on other than two-way roadways. At any intersection where traffic is restricted to one direction on one or more of the roadways, the driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any such intersection shall approach the intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the direction of travel of such vehicle and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection, as nearly as practicable, in the left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in such direction upon the roadway being entered.

 

NJSA 39:4-135. Parking; direction and side of street; angle parking; one-way street
For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

The operator of a vehicle shall not stop, stand or park the vehicle in a roadway other than parallel with the edge of the roadway headed in the direction of traffic, on the right-hand side of the road and with the curb side of the vehicle within six inches of the edge of the roadway, except as follows:

a. Upon those streets which have been designated by ordinance and have been marked or signed for angle parking, vehicles shall be parked at the angle to the curb designated and indicated by the ordinance and marks or signs.

b. Upon one-way streets, local authorities may permit parking of vehicles parallel with the left-hand edge of the roadway headed in the direction of traffic, on the left-hand side of the road and with the curb side of the vehicle within six inches of the edge of the roadway.

NJSA 39:4-136. Parking on highway; removing vehicle; disabled vehicle

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person shall park or leave standing a vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the roadway, outside of a business or residence district, when it is practicable to park or leave it standing off the roadway. In no event shall a person park or leave standing a vehicle whether attended or unattended, upon a roadway, unless a clear and unobstructed width of not less than fifteen feet upon the roadway opposite the standing vehicle is left for free passage of other vehicles thereon, nor unless a clear view of the vehicle may be obtained from a distance of two hundred feet in each direction upon the roadway.

In the event that a vehicle is disabled or otherwise unable to proceed while on the roadway of a highway, the driver or person in charge of such vehicle shall immediately, by the quickest means of communication, notify the nearest police authority.

Any vehicle, upon a roadway, which is disabled to the extent that the operator cannot move it, or any unoccupied vehicle parked or standing in violation of this chapter shall be deemed a nuisance and a menace to the safe and proper regulation of traffic and any peace officer may provide for the removal of such vehicle. The owner shall pay the reasonable costs of the removal and storage which may result from such removal, before regaining possession of the vehicle.

 

39:4-137. Vehicle without driver; brakes set; motor stopped; wheels turned to curb
For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No person having control or charge of a motor vehicle shall allow it to stand on a highway unattended without first effectively setting the brakes thereon and stopping the motor thereof, and, when standing on a grade, without turning the wheels thereof to the curb or side of the highway.

 

39:4-138. Places where parking prohibited; exceptions; moving vehicle not under ones control into prohibited area.

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance

. 39:4-138. Except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or in compliance with the directions of a traffic or police officer or traffic sign or signal, no operator of a vehicle shall stand or park the vehicle in any of the following places:

a. Within an intersection;

b. On a crosswalk;

c. Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within at least 20 feet of a point on the curb immediately opposite the end of a safety zone;

d. In front of a public or private driveway;

e. Within 25 feet of the nearest crosswalk or side line of a street or intersecting highway, except at alleys;

f. On a sidewalk;

g. In any appropriately marked No Parking space established pursuant to the duly promulgated regulations of the Commissioner of Transportation;

h. Within 50 feet of a stop sign;

i. Within 10 feet of a fire hydrant;

j. Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;

k. Within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the side of a street opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of said entrance, when properly signposted;

l. Alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when stopping, standing, or parking would obstruct traffic, when properly signposted;

m. On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a street;

n. Upon any bridge or other elevated structure upon a highway, or within a highway tunnel or underpass, or on the immediate approaches thereto except where space for parking is provided;

o. In any space on public or private property appropriately marked for vehicles for the physically handicapped pursuant to P.L.1977, c.202 (C.39:4-197.5), P.L.1975, c.217 (C.52:27D-119 et seq.) or any other applicable law unless the vehicle is authorized by law to be parked therein and a handicapped person is either the driver or a passenger in that vehicle. State, county or municipal law enforcement officers or parking enforcement authority officers shall enforce the parking restrictions on spaces appropriately marked for vehicles for the physically handicapped on both public and private property.

No person shall move a vehicle not lawfully under his control into any such prohibited area or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.

 

39:4-139. Loading or unloading passengers or materials; period at certain places

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

No operator of a vehicle shall stand or park the vehicle for a period of time longer than is necessary for the loading or unloading of passengers or materials or longer than is hereinafter provided. The loading or unloading of passengers shall not consume more than three minutes in an alley or at a curb adjacent to the entrance of a school, church, theatre, hotel, hospital or any other place of public assemblage during hours designated by official signs.

 

39:4-145. Failure to yiend to a line of vehicles entering stop or yield intersection after stopping

Fine ranging from $50-$200 or imprisonment not exceeding 15 days, or both. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

One or more vehicles or street cars following directly in line with another vehicle or street car and coming to a complete stop, caused by the first vehicle or street car nearest the intersection complying with section 39:4-144 of this Title, may proceed into or across the intersecting street without again coming to a complete stop. No driver of a vehicle or street car approaching the intersection on the intersecting street shall fail to yield to the vehicle so proceeding into or across the intersecting street.

 

39:4-207.9. Failure to maintain handicapped parking space

Fine ranging from $200-$500. For information regarding points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

1. a. A person who owns or controls a parking area which is open to the public or to which the public is invited and which contains special parking spaces for the use of persons who have been issued a placard or wheelchair symbol license plates pursuant to P.L.1949, c.280 (C.39:4-204 et seq.) shall be responsible for assuring that access to these special parking spaces and to curb cuts or other improvements designed to provide accessibility for handicapped persons is not obstructed.

b. If snow or ice is obstructing the special parking space, curb cut or other improvement designed to provide accessibility for the handicapped, it shall be removed within 48 hours after the weather condition causing the snow or ice ceases.

c. A person who violates this act shall be liable for a penalty of not less than $200 or more than $500.

 

39:4-215. Failure to obey signals, signs or directions

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

Any person who fails to obey the directions of a police officer or fails to obey the directional signals or signs provided hereunder shall be subject to a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or imprisonment for ten days in jail, or both.

 

39:8-1 Motor vehicle inspections, exceptions.

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:8-1. a. Every motor vehicle registered in this State which is used over any public road, street, or highway or any public or quasi-public property in this State, and every vehicle subject to enhanced inspection and maintenance programs pursuant to 40 C.F.R. s.51.356, except historic motor vehicles registered as such, collector motor vehicles designated as such pursuant to this subsection, and those vehicles over 8,500 pounds gross weight that are under the inspection jurisdiction of the commission pursuant to Titles 27 and 48 (as amended by this legislation) of the Revised Statutes, shall be inspected by designated examiners or at official inspection facilities to be designated by the commission or at licensed private inspection facilities. The commission shall adopt rules and regulations establishing a procedure for the designation of motor vehicles as collector motor vehicles, which designation shall include consideration by the commission of one or more of the following factors: the age of the vehicle, the number of such vehicles originally manufactured, the number of such vehicles that are currently in use, the total number of miles the vehicle has been driven, the number of miles the vehicle has been driven during the previous year or other period of time determined by the commission, and whether the vehicle has a collector classification for insurance purposes.

b. The commission shall determine the official inspection facility or private inspection facility at which a motor vehicle, depending upon its characteristics, shall be inspected. The commission, with the concurrence of the Department of Environmental Protection, may exclude by regulation from this inspection requirement any category of motor vehicle if good cause for such exclusion exists, unless the exclusion is likely to prevent this State from meeting the applicable performance standard established by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. The commission may determine that a vehicle is in compliance with the inspection requirements of this section if the vehicle has been inspected and passed under a similar inspection program of another state, district, or territory of the United States.

 

39:8-4. Reinspection

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:8-4. a. If inspections as required by R.S. 39:8-1 disclose the necessity for adjustments, corrections or repairs, the director shall cause a rejection sticker to be issued.

b. The director may require the owner of a motor vehicle requiring an adjustment, correction or repair that is not emission-related to have that adjustment, correction or repair made and thereafter have the vehicle reinspected at an official inspection facility or at a licensed private inspection facility within the period designated by the director.

The director may cause a certificate of approval to be issued for a motor vehicle needing an adjustment, correction or repair that is not emission-related in order to conform to the requirements of chapter 3 and chapter 8 of this Title, but which, in the directors determination, is nevertheless safe. In such cases the director shall issue notice to the vehicle owner to have the adjustment, correction or repair made within a specified period of time, subject to the penalties of R.S.39:8-9.

c. The director shall require the owner of a motor vehicle requiring an adjustment, correction or repair that is emission-related to have that adjustment, correction or repair made and thereafter have the vehicle reinspected at an official inspection facility or at a private inspection facility, as determined by the director, within the period designated by the director.

 

NJSA 39:8-6.

For information regarding fine, imprisonment, points or surcharges contact the Motor Vehicle Commission. For information about car insurance eligibility and points contact your car insurance company or the New Jersey Department of Insurance.

39:8-6. Display of approval certificate on request

During the period designated by the director or any police officer who shall exhibit his badge or other sign of authority may stop any motor vehicle and require the owner or operator to display an official certificate of approval for the motor vehicle being operated.

Surcharges are fines assessed by New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS). Drivers who have excessive points for traffic violations or have been convicted in court for specific offenses  such as driving while intoxicated (DWI) are liable for Surcharge. Surcharges are in addition to any court fines and/or penalties and are billed yearly for three years. If you have received a surcharge notice in the mail and do not see an answer to your question on this page or in the FAQ, please call the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System at (888-651-9999).

Why do you get a Surcharge?

 

Your New Jersey driving record is reviewed every time points or other serious violations are added to your driving record. If you accumulate six or more points within three years from your last posted violation, you will receive a $150 Surcharge plus $25 for each additional point. A points based Surcharge can result in a Surcharge for three years.

 

Additional violations that will result in a Surcharge due for three years:

         $100 for unlicensed driver or driver with expired license ($300 total)

         $250 for driving with a suspended license ($750 total)

         $100 for failure to insure a moped  ($300 total)

         $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle  ($750 total)

         $1,000 for first and second driving while intoxicated (DWI)  ($3,000 total)

         $1,500 third DWI  (if it occurs within three years last offense) ($4,500 total)

         $1,000 for refusing to take test to measure blood alcohol concentration  ($3,000 total)

Not paying surcharges?

Drivers failing to pay surcharges are sent a notice indicating when their license will be suspended and another notice confirming suspension for non-payment. Moving out of state or failing to maintain a current address with the MVC does not excuse surcharge debts.  After suspension, surcharges and a $100 restoration fee must be paid to restore the license privilege.  If the surcharge remains unpaid a Certificate of Debt is filed in Superior Court.   The court issues a judgment, which allows the state to collect unpaid surcharges through involuntary means.  The judgment amount (surcharge debt) must be paid before personal property can be transferred or sold.  Judgments include a collection cost and interest charges calculated on the judgment balance.  Unpaid judgments are assigned to collection agencies and law firms.  Credit bureaus are made aware of unpaid accounts.

Are you eligible for a Hardship Payment Plan?

Drivers owing surcharges can request a lower cost payment plan if they are currently receiving government benefits.   This includes participants in Work Force New Jersey (TANF), Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (SNAP),  those receiving unemployment benefits and other eligible programs.  Contact the billing office at 888-651-9999 or the collection firm noted on your billing statement for more information.  You will need to submit proof of participation or receipt of benefits.  Hardship payment plans expire when there is no longer a hardship.  Hardship Payment Plans will assist drivers in avoiding suspension and aid in restoring driving privileges.

More information on Surcharges?

Please visit Surcharge Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

How to pay your Surcharges?

There are several ways of paying your Surcharge:

         Pay with debit/credit card or e-check via the internet:   Go to www.njsurcharge.com

         Pay with debit/credit card via telephone: Call toll free at 888-651-9999

         Pay with cash: Visit a Western Union location in New Jersey and nation wide

         Send a check or money order payable to:

NJSVS

P.O. Box 4850

Trenton, NJ 08650-4850

Surcharge Payment plans are available as detailed on your bill. You can call 888-651-9999 for more information.  You may also use this number to automatically access individual account and payment information, obtain Surcharge program information, and make credit card payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/Surcharges.htm


Kenneth Vercammen was the Middlesex County Bar Municipal Court Attorney of the Year
Minimum Mandatory Fines, Points, Jail and Penalties Relating to Selected Motor Vehicle Offenses

Telephone Consultation Program
New Article of the Week

Meet with an experienced Attorney to handle your important legal needs.
Please call the office to schedule a confidential "in Office" consultation.
Attorneys are not permitted to provide legal advice by email.

Kenneth Vercammens Law office represents individuals charged with criminal, drug offenses, and serious traffic violations throughout New Jersey. Our office helps people with traffic/ municipal court tickets including drivers charged with Driving While Intoxicated, Refusal and Driving While Suspended.

Kenneth Vercammen was the NJ State Bar Municipal Court Attorney of the Year and past president of the Middlesex County Municipal Prosecutors Association.

Criminal and Motor vehicle violations can cost you. You will have to pay fines in court or receive points on your drivers license. An accumulation of too many points, or certain moving violations may require you to pay expensive surcharges to the N.J. DMV [Division of Motor Vehicles] or have your license suspended. Dont give up! The Law Office of Kenneth Vercammen can provide experienced attorney representation for criminal motor vehicle violations.

When your job or drivers license is in jeopardy or you are facing thousands of dollars in fines, DMV surcharges and car insurance increases, you need excellent legal representation. The least expensive attorney is not always the answer. Schedule an appointment if you need experienced legal representation in a traffic/municipal court matter.

Our website provides information on traffic offenses we can be retained to represent people. Our website also provides details on jail terms for traffic violations and car insurance eligibility points. Car insurance companies increase rates or drop customers based on moving violations.

Contact the Law Office of
Kenneth Vercammen & Associates, P.C.
at 732-572-0500
for an appointment.

The Law Office cannot provide legal advice or answer legal questions over the phone or by email. Please call the Law office and schedule a confidential "in office" consultation. The Law Office now accepts payment by American Express, Visa and Master Card.

Ken Vercammen articles.

Ken Vercammens Resume
Directions to Ken Vercammen and Associates




Disclaimer This web site is purely a public resource of general New Jersey information (intended, but not promised or guaranteed to be correct, complete, or up-to-date). It is not intended be a source of legal advice, do not rely on information at this site or others in place of the advice of competent counsel. The Law Office of Kenneth Vercammen complies with the New Jersey Rules of Professional Conduct. This web site is not sponsored or associated with any particular linked entity unless specifically stated. The existence of any particular link is simply intended to imply potential interest to the reader, inclusion of a link should not be construed as an endorsement.

Copyright 2017. Kenneth Vercammen & Associates, P.C.